MCSAW Questions and Answers

Questions and Answers concerning Motor Carriers


The following are common questions from the motoring public about Florida's Motor Carrier operations along with associated answers to these questions.


Expand all

Collapse all

Are rental trucks required to enter weigh stations (i.e. moving trucks)? What if I'm pulling a rental trailer with my personal vehicle?
Where can I find employment information about working at a weigh station?
Are Weigh Stations open on the weekend?
Regarding tandem recreational towing; I have a crew cab pick-up truck and a 21.5 ft travel trailer. I would like to tow my golf cart behind the travel trailer on a small utility trailer. I would like to know the maximum vehicle length also.
Are there pay phones at the comfort/inspection barns or in the weigh stations?
Where can I obtain an oversize permit? What are the rules for overweight and overdimensional permits?
Where can I find information about transporting hazardous materials?
How do I pay a citation that I received at the weigh station? May a weight citation be protested before making payment?
Where can I find information on Commercial Driver's Licenses (CDL) requirements?
What is the legal height in Florida?
Where can I find information on escort training in Florida?
How do I obtain an IRP/Fuel Trip Permit? Can IRP and IFTA permits be purchased at the state-line weigh stations?
How many trailers may a straight truck tow?
To be allowed a 53-57 foot trailer, how is the king pin measurement measured on a trailer with a split rear axle?
What is a 10% permit? Can a tire sized vehicle use a divisible load permit (10% permit)? Is the over-width portion of a 10% permit valid on the interstate if the vehicle is not overweight?
Is a single unit flatbed truck hauling sand with a bed that dumps considered a tire size vehicle? What about a single unit truck transporting sludge in a tank, is this a tire size vehicle?
Does the utility length exception apply to a utility company straight truck-trailer combination transporting a pole?
What is the width limit of an agriculture trailer hauling agriculture products?
Can a trailer that is 57 feet long and not meeting the 41 feet or less king pin setting be issued a permit?
Is a non-stinger steered truck tractor semi-trailer automobile carrier without a load carrying structure on the tractor limited to a 50 foot trailer?
How much overhang may a 40 foot straight truck have transporting a non-divisible load?
If the axle spacing required on a permit is not met, is the permit voided?
What is the maximum length of a trailer in a truck-trailer combination?
Would the distance of the king pin from the rear axles apply to question #25 since the trailer is over 48 feet?

Helpful Info


Some documents within this website are pdf files and must be viewed with: Adobe Acrobat Reader Get Acrobat Reader Logo.

Submit a question or comment concerning this website by clicking here.

MCSAW Questions?


Submit Your Question here! 


 Code of Federal Regulations
Title 23: Highways, Part 658 Truck Size and Weight; Route Designations.

Florida Administrative Code
FAC 14-26 Safety Regulations and Permit Fees for Overweight and Over-dimensional Vehicles

Florida Statutes
316.515 Maximum Width, Height, Length
316.516 Width, Height and Length; Inspection Penalties
316.535 Maximum Weights
316.545 Unlawful Weight
316.550 Special Permits
316.565 Emergency Transportation
320.01 General Definitions
320.08 License Taxes
320.06 Certificate of Registration