Lane repurposing projects also known as “Road Diets” are a successful way to utilize existing space within a roadway which has excess capacity or changing transportation demands.  The review and approval process can be found in Chapter 126 of the FDOT Design Manual. FDOT has prepared lane elimination guidance:

 

 

Contact Information by District

 

 

District Counties Contact
 1 Charlotte, Collier, De Soto, Glades, Hardee, Hendry, Highlands, Lee, Manatee, Okeechobee, Polk, and Sarasota Christopher Simpron
Christopher.Simpron@dot.state.fl.us 
 2 Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Clay, Columbia, Dixie, Duval, Gilchrist, Hamilton, Lafayette, Levy, Madison, Nassau, Putnam, St. Johns, Suwannee, Taylor, and Union Jim Knight
james.knight@dot.state.fl.us
 3 Bay, Calhoun, Escambia, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, Jefferson, Leon, Liberty, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Wakulla, Walton, and Washington Mark Brock
Mark.Brock@dot.state.fl.us
 4 Broward, Indian River, Martin, Palm Beach, and St. Lucie Shi-Chiang Li
Shi-Chiang.Li@dot.state.fl.us

Chon Wong
Chon.Wong@dot.state.fl.us 
 5 Brevard, Flagler, Lake, Marion, Orange, Osceola, Seminole, Sumter, and Volusia Heather Garcia
Heather.Garcia@dot.state.fl.us
 6 Miami-Dade and Monroe Ken Jeffries
Ken.Jeffries@dot.state.fl.us

Neil Lyn
Neil.Lyn@dot.state.fl.us
 7 Citrus, Hernando, Hillsborough, Pasco, and Pinellas Chad Stewart
Chad.Stewart@dot.state.fl.us
TP Florida's Turnpike John Easterling
John.Easterling@dot.state.fl.us

Eric Gordin
Eric.Gordin@dot.state.fl.us
 

 

For more information contact Gina Bonyani by e-mail or telephone (850) 414-4707.