Programs and Services

FDOT Emergency Management utilizes the four standard phases to help guide the program and its operations. While specific tasks and needs will vary based on the emergency, the basic phases are always followed.

These phases are not just for emergency managers — your family's emergency plan likely follows the same steps.


Preparedness is getting ready to handle an emergency.

  • This includes plans or preparations made to save lives and to help response and rescue operations.
  • Evacuation plans and stocking food and water are both examples of preparedness.
  • Preparedness activities take place before an emergency occurs.


Response is reacting safely to an emergency.

  • This includes actions taken to save lives and prevent further property damage in an emergency situation. Response is putting your preparedness plans into action.
  • Seeking shelter from a tornado or turning off gas valves in an earthquake are both response activities.
  • Response activities take place during an emergency.


Recovery is returning to an original state after an emergency.

  • This includes actions taken to return to a normal or an even safer situation following an emergency.
  • Recovery includes getting financial assistance to help pay for the repairs.
  • Recovery activities take place after an emergency.


Mitigation is preventing or minimizing the effects of future emergencies.

  • This includes any activities that prevent an emergency, reduce the chance of an emergency happening or reduce the damaging effects of unavoidable emergencies.
  • Buying flood and fire insurance for your home is a mitigation activity.
  • Mitigation activities take place before and after emergencies.