Rule Notices

Annual Regulatory Plan

In accordance with Section 120.74, F.S., as amended by Ch. 2015-162, Laws of Florida, the Department of Transportation provides the attached regulatory plan listing each law enacted or amended during the previous 12 months which creates or modifies the duties or authority of the Department and the Department's plan to initiate rulemaking to comply with any law necessitating rulemaking. Also listed are rules the Department plans to develop, amend, or repeal in the upcoming year.


Notice of Variance

The Florida Department of Transportation hereby gives notice that on November 16, 2022, 3N Outdoor Media, Inc. filed a request for a variance from Rule 14-10.004(7)(d), Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.), which directs that no sign permit shall be issued for a sign to be located outside the boundaries of an incorporated municipality and within 500 feet of an interchange, intersection at grade, or rest area on the interstate.  A copy of the request may be obtained and any comments may be submitted to the Agency Clerk at

On December 19, 2022, The Florida Department of Transportation (DOT) entered an Order Granting Petition for Variance from Rule 14-73.001, F.A.C., to the South Florida Regional Transportation Authority (SFRTA). On September 30, 2022, SFRTA requested a variance to the deadline for adoption of SFRTA’s Five-Year Transit Development Plan (TDP) update. Notice of the Petition for Variance was published on October 10, 2022, in Vol. 48, No. 197 of the Florida Administrative Register. DOT granted the variance, because SFRTA demonstrated that the strict application of Rule 14-73.001, F.A.C., would create a substantial hardship on Petitioner, and DOT determined that a one-year extension of the TDP deadline promoted the effective use of transportation resources in developing the Five-Year update to the TDP. No comments were received on the request for variance. A copy of the Order or additional information may be obtained from the Clerk of Agency Proceedings, Department of Transportation, 605 Suwannee Street, MS 58, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0458,


Notice of Minor Violation Rules

In accordance with  Section 120.695(1)(c), Florida Statutes, the Department of Transportation provides this listing of rules for which a notice of noncompliance or similar notice will be issued prior to imposition of a fine or other disciplinary penalty.

List of Minor Violation Rules