Road Jurisdiction Transfers


FDOT’s primary statutory responsibility is to coordinate the planning and development of a safe, viable, and balanced state transportation system serving all regions of the state and to assure the compatibility of all components, including multimodal facilities.

In recognition of that goal, the Florida Legislature mandated Title XXVI, Public Transportation, Chapter 335, State Highway System (SHS) with the Road Jurisdiction guidance that states:

335.0415(5) – Public road jurisdiction and transfer process. In order to take effect, all transfers of public roads to or from the State Highway System must be by mutual agreement of the affected governmental entities and approved by the Secretary of the Department of Transportation. Source: Florida Legislature

Road Jurisdiction Transfers (RJT) that impact the SHS must be mutually agreed upon by the affected governmental entities and approved by the FDOT Secretary. The Transfer Agreement must describe in detail the road to be transferred, including:

  • Road Name
  • Route Numbers
  • Beginning/Ending Mile Points
  • Location Map
  • Easements
  • Crossings
  • FDOT Non-Motorized/Portable/Telemetered Traffic Monitoring Sites
  • Detailed Description of Right-of-Way Responsibilities
  • Any Other Items/Agreements Related to the Roadway

The Transfer Agreement must be signed by the District Secretary, FDOT General Counsel, and the local agency authority. A local agency official, such as the County or City Clerk, will attest that the Transfer Agreement was executed by the official authorized to do so, according to the local Resolution. For additional RJT guidance, please see the handbook and procedure linked below.



For RJT inquires, please reach out to our Statewide Coordinators:

  • District 1
    Contact: Kyle Purvis
    Phone: (863) 519-2395
  • Counties: Charlotte, Collier, DeSoto, Glades, Hardee, Hendry, Highlands, Lee, Manatee, Okeechobee, Polk, Sarasota
  • District 2
    Contact: Justin Bellot
    Phone: (386) 961-3774
  • Counties: Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Clay, Columbia, Dixie, Duval, Gilchrist, Hamilton, Lafayette, Levy, Madison, Nassau, Putnam, St. Johns, Suwannee, Taylor, Union
  • District 3
    Contact: Corey Webb
    Phone: (850) 330-1541
  • Counties: Bay, Calhoun, Escambia, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, Leon, Liberty, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Wakulla, Walton, Washington
  • District 4
    Contact: Yamila Rodriguez
    Phone: (954) 777-4664
  • Counties Broward, Indian River, Martin, Palm Beach, St. Lucie
  • District 5
    Contact: Shanshan Yang
    Phone: (305) 794-0731
  • Counties: Brevard, Flagler, Lake, Marion, Orange, Osceola, Seminole, Sumter, Volusia
  • District 7
    Contact: Brian Hunter
    Phone: (813) 975-6436
    Counties: Citrus, Hernando, Hillsborough, Pasco, Pinellas
  • Turnpike
    Contact: Juan Echevarria
    Phone: (407) 264-3645
  • Counties: Brevard, Broward, Citrus, Clay, Duval, Hernando, Hillsborough, Indian River, Lake, Martin, Miami-Dade, Okeechobee, Orange, Osceola, Palm Beach, Pasco, Polk, St. Lucie, Sumter

For additional information or to submit a data request, please contact:
Transportation Data Inventory
Florida Department of Transportation
Transportation Data and Analytics Office
605 Suwannee St., MS 27
Tallahassee, FL 32301