About District One

Contact Information


District One Secretary

L.K. Nandam

801 N. Broadway Ave.
Bartow, Florida 33830-3809
(800) 292-3368

Communications  Office

Bartow District Headquarters:
801 North Broadway Avenue
Bartow, Florida 33830-3809
(863) 519-2362 FAX (239) 338-2353

Southwest Area Office

10041 Daniels Parkway
Ft. Myers, Florida 33913
(239) 225-1900 FAX (239) 338-2353
Toll Free in Southwest Florida 1-800-292-3368

Telephone Directory


Commuter Services
District 1 ETDM Website

Southwest Florida Construction Projects (Pending)
Major Construction Projects Website

Major Cities

Arcadia, Bartow, Bradenton, Cape Coral, Englewood, Fort Myers, Haines City, Lake Wales, Lakeland, Naples, North Port, Okeechobee, Port Charlotte, Punta Gorda, Sarasota, Sebring, Wauchula, Winter Haven, and Venice


Charlotte, Collier, De Soto, Glades, Hardee, Hendry, Highlands, Lee, Manatee, Okeechobee, Polk, and Sarasota

State Highway System Summary

Centerline miles - 1,870

Lane miles - 6,293

Fixed bridges - 918

Movable bridges - 15

District One, with a land area of nearly 12,000 square miles, represents 12 counties in Southwestern Florida. Its 1.8 million residents contribute to the 21 million miles traveled daily on its state highways. District One provides capital grant funds to 21 public airports, including two international airports, both of which are designated "Strategic Intermodal System" (SIS) hubs. In addition, there are 121 registered private aviation facilities in the District.

The District One Modal Development administers State- and Federally-funded public transit and paratransit programs that provide capital and operating assistance to seven transit systems in urban areas and to seven recipient agencies for rural public transit services in ten counties; capital equipment and operating assistance for transportation of seniors and people with disabilities throughout the District; transit planning funds for Metropolitan Planning Organizations; mobility management funding for regional Heartland Rural Mobility Plan-related development of rural transit and cross-state transit services; the Commuter Assistance Project for marketing and promotion of commuter mode choices; vanpool development and support; discretionary grants for transit corridor projects, new public transportation services and intermodal transfer centers, and technological innovation, and provides technical assistance.

The District has one deep-water seaport in operation, also a SIS hub, which receives state grant funds from the Seaports and Intermodal programs. District One is served by 5 Railroad Companies (CSX, Evansville Western Railway, Fla Midland, South Central Fla Express, Seminole Gulf Railway), 2 excursion trains (Murder Mystery - Seminole Gulf and Florida Railroad, Parrish).

The District now has one true intermodal logistics center called Central Florida Intermodal Logistics Center with freight movements by Rail (CSX & Evansville Western Railway) and Truck located in Winter Haven, Florida. Most of the Rail lines are either designated "Strategic Intermodal System" or an "Emerging Strategic Intermodal System".