Kevin J. Thibault, Secretary of the Florida Department of Transportation

Kevin J. Thibault was named Secretary of the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) by Governor Ron DeSantis on January 18, 2019. As Secretary, Thibault oversees the lead agency in state government with the statutory responsibility (s. 20.23, F.S.)  to coordinate the planning and development of a safe, viable, and balanced transportation system serving all regions of the state, and to assure the compatibility of all components, including multimodal facilities.

Secretary Thibault has spent half of his professional career in the private sector providing transportation engineering services for states like Florida, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Vermont, Indiana, Kentucky, California and Virginia. For over 16 years, Thibault has served in various roles within FDOT from project management to executive leadership and has consistently focused on the importance of partnerships to deliver the transportation needs of the state.

Secretary Thibault has focused the agency on implementing several initiatives centered on improving safety, enhancing mobility and inspiring innovation.  He has also ensured that the agency remains an active partner with national and industry associations. To that end, Secretary Thibault serves on the Board of Directors of the American Association of State Highway & Transportation Officials (AASHTO), where he also serves as Chair of the Council on Water Transportation, as well as serving on the Board of Directors of the Intelligent Transportation Society of America (ITS America), the nation’s leading advocate in the deployment of transportation technology.

Secretary Thibault received his Bachelor of Science Degree in Civil Engineering from the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth, where he serves on the Dean’s Advisory Council for the University’s College of Engineering.

Click here for a high-resolution photo.

Executive Team




Kevin J. Thibault


(850) 414-4100

Torey Alston

Chief of Staff

(850) 414-4247

Sean Gellis

General Counsel

(850) 414-5265

April Blackburn

Chief Technology Officer

(850) 414-4771

Courtney Drummond

Assistant Secretary for Engineering and Operations

(850) 414-5240

Stacy Miller

Assistant Secretary for Finance and Administration

(850) 414-5220

Brad Thoburn

Assistant Secretary for Strategic Development

(850) 414-5235

L.K. Nandam

District One Secretary

(800) 292-3368

Greg Evans

District Two Secretary

(800) 749-2967

Phillip Gainer

District Three Secretary

(888) 638-0250

Gerry O'Reilly

District Four Secretary

(866) 336-8435

Jared Perdue

District Five Secretary

(800) 780-7102

Jim Wolfe

District Six Secretary

(800) 435-2368

David Gwynn

District Seven Secretary

(800) 226-7220

Nicola Liquori

Enterprise Director and Chief Executive Officer

(800) 749-7453

Huiwei Shen

Chief Planner

(850) 414-5246

Will Watts

Chief Engineer

(850) 414-5236



Organizational Chart