State Safety Office
- What is Florida's Safety Belt Law?
- What is the fine for a safety belt violation?
- Can a passenger in a motor vehicle be ticketed for not wearing a safety belt?
CHILD PASSENGER SAFETY
- What is Florida's Child Restraint Law?
- What is the fine for a child restraint violation?
- Which child restraint device is the safest for my child?
- How can I determine if my child safety seat has been recalled?
- How do I know if my child safety seat is installed correctly?
- Can a child safety seat car seat be used on an airplane?
What is Florida's Safety Belt Law?
Florida law requires that all drivers and front seat passengers use safety belts when the vehicle is in motion. In addition, all persons under 18 years old are required to be restrained by a safety belt or child restraint device. (FS 316.614)
What is the fine for a safety belt violation?
$30.00 plus other legal assessments.
Can a passenger in a motor vehicle be ticketed for not wearing a safety belt?
Yes. All front seat passengers must buckle up, regardless of age. Passengers under the age of 18 must be belted in either the front or back seat of the vehicle. (FS 316.614(8)).
What is Florida's Child Restraint Law?
All children 5 years of age or younger must be properly restrained no matter where they are sitting in the vehicle. Children through age 3 must be secured in a separate carrier or a vehicle manufacturer's integrated child safety seat. For children aged 4 through 5 years, a separate carrier, an integrated child safety seat, or a safety belt may be used. (FS 316.613).
What is the fine for a child restraint violation?
$60.00 and 3 points.
Which child restraint device is the safest for my child?
Child safety seats/restraints that meet current Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 213 and are used according to the vehicle owner's manual and child restraint manufacturer's instructions. The Florida Department of Transportation follows the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) recommendations for child safety seats/restraints.
On the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) website parents and caregivers can search recommended seat types based on their child's age, weight and height. Safe Kids Worldwide also has an Ultimate Car Seat Guide that provides practical tips to keep kids safe in cars.
How can I determine if my child safety seat has been recalled?
You can sign up to receive email alerts for car seat and booster seat recalls from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration or search by Manufacturer.
How do I know if my child safety seat is installed correctly?
The Florida Car Seat Fitting Station List can help you locate a fitting station near you where Certified Child Passenger Safety Technicians will inspect your child safety seat—in most cases, free of charge—and show you how to correctly install and use it.
Can a child safety seat car seat be used on an airplane?
Most infant, convertible, and forward-facing seats are certified to be used on airplanes. Booster seats and travel vests are not. You should check the label on the seat and call the airline before you travel to be sure your seat meets current Federal Aviation Administration regulations.
Page updated: October 8, 2018