Safety Engineering

Crash Data

Crash Data Academy

Traffic Safety Portal

Transportation Safety Engineering is the discipline that works to mitigate conflicts on the roadway, reduces the roadway problems that lead to traffic crashes and gives clear information to assist drivers to make safe driving decisions. In Florida, Transportation Safety Engineering is conducted at statewide and district or regional levels.

Statewide Functions

  • Procedure Development
  • Quality Assurance
  • Safety Project Evaluation
  • Crash Location Processing
  • Variety Crash Analyses
  • Public Information/Data Requests

District Transportation Safety Engineering Functions

  • Analyses of specific locations to identify potential safety improvements and initiate safety solutions.
  • Review fatal crashes to determine if engineering actions are needed.
  • Provide Safety Engineering analyses and reviews for all FDOT projects.

Safety Engineering Contacts

(See the State map)
State Traffic Safety Engineer

Central Office 

Brenda Young, P.E.

850.414.4146 

Brenda.Young@dot.state.fl.us


Charlotte, Collier, DeSoto, Glades, Hardee, Hendry,
Highlands, Lee, Manatee, Okeechobee, Polk, Sarasota 
District 1Nathan Kautz, P.E.

863.519.2512

Nathan.Kautz@dot.state.fl.us


 
Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Clay, Columbia, Dixie, Duval,
Gilchrist, Hamilton, Lafayette, Levy, Madison, Nassau,
Putnam, St. Johns, Suwannee, Taylor, Union 
District 2Cody Ko, P.E.

904.360.5520

Cody.ko@dot.state.fl.us


Bay, Calhoun, Escambia,Franklin, Gadsden,
Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, Jefferson, Leon, Liberty,
Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Wakulla, Walton, Washington 
District 3Michael Lewis, P.E.

850.330.1266

Michael.Lewis@dot.state.fl.us


Broward, Indian River, Martin, Palm Beach,

St. Lucie 

District 4Yujing (Tracey) Xie, P.E.

954.777.4350

Xie.Yujing@dot.state.fl.us


Brevard, Flagler, Lake, Marion, Orange, Osceola,
Seminole, Sumter, Volusia 
District 5Tony Nosse, P.E.

386.943.5334

Anthony.Nosse@dot.state.fl.us


Miami-Dade, Monroe District 6Misleidys Leon, P.E.

305.470.5345

Misleidys.Leon@dot.state.fl.us


Citrus, Hernando, Hillsborough, Pasco, Pinellas District 7Peter Hsu, P.E.

813.975.6251

Peter.Hsu@dot.state.fl.us


Florida's Turnpike EnterpriseTurnpike Eric Gordin, P.E.

407.264.3316

Eric.Gordin@dot.state.fl.us

 

Florida Highway Safety Manual Efforts

Florida Highway Safety Manual Efforts This link provides information on what implementation efforts have been done and are planned.

Highway Safety Manual logo

The Highway Safety Manual (HSM) is a useful tool to help practitioners in decision making. The HSM provides the best factual information and tools in a useful and widely accepted form and to facilitate roadway design and operational decisions based upon explicit consideration of their safety consequences. This manual strengthens the role of safety in road planning, design, maintenance, construction, and operations decision making. The manual features synthesis of validated highway research; procedures that are adapted and integrated to practice; and Analytical tools for predicting impact on road safety.

Related Links

For more information contact Brenda Young, P.E. @ 850.414.4146