An Interchange Access Request (IAR) demonstrates that a project is needed and is viable based on safety, operational and engineering criteria. To ensure access decisions are properly administered, both Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) have adopted policies regarding IARs.

 

Resources

 

FHWA: Interstate Access Policy – May, 2017
FHWA: Interstate System Access Information Guide

FDOT: Approval of New or Modified Access to Limited Access Highways on the Strategic Intermodal System (SIS)

FDOT: New or Modified interchanges

FDOT: Interchange Access Request Process Flow Chart

 

Transportation Management Areas (TMA) Map (KMZ File)
DISCLAIMER: Google Earth must be installed on your PC prior to opening the KMZ file

 

2018 Interchange Access Request Users Guide
The Interchange Handbook provides guidance on the state and federal requirements and process to be used by all requestors proposing a new or modified interchange to any limited-access facility on the SHS.

 

2014 Traffic Analysis Handbook - A Reference for Planning and Operations
The Traffic Analysis Handbook guides the reviewer of traffic analysis reports to the items that need to be checked and verified before accepting the work performed by the analyst.

 

Interchange Review Coordinator (IRC) Contacts

 

Each District and the Turnpike Enterprise has established an Interchange Review Coordinator (IRC). The IRC is the primary point of contact for all Requesters, both inside and outside the Department, requesting new or modified interchanges on existing SIS limited access facilities within their Districts.

 

DistrictCountiesContact
1Charlotte, Collier, De Soto, Glades, Hardee, Hendry, Highlands, Lee, Manatee, Okeechobee, Polk, and SarasotaChristopher Simpron
Christopher.Simpron@dot.state.fl.us
2Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Clay, Columbia, Dixie, Duval, Gilchrist, Hamilton, Lafayette, Levy, Madison, Nassau, Putnam, St. Johns, Suwannee, Taylor, and UnionDavid Tyler
David.Tyler@dot.state.fl.us
3Bay, Calhoun, Escambia, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, Jefferson, Leon, Liberty, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Wakulla, Walton, and WashingtonRay Kirkland
Ray.Kirkland@dot.state.fl.us
4Broward, Indian River, Martin, Palm Beach, and St. LucieCesar Martinez
Cesar.Martinez@dot.state.fl.us
5Brevard, Flagler, Lake, Marion, Orange, Osceola, Seminole, Sumter, and VolusiaSuraj Pamulapati
Suraj.Pamulapati@dot.state.fl.us 
6Miami-Dade and MonroeKen Jeffries
Ken.Jeffries@dot.state.fl.us
7Citrus, Hernando, Hillsborough, Pasco, and PinellasWaddah Farah
Waddah.Farah@dot.state.fl.us
TurnpikeFlorida's TurnpikeCarol Scott
Carol.Scott@dot.state.fl.us

 

 

For further information contact Amy Causseaux or phone (850) 414-4644.