DID YOU KNOW...

- Drunk driving is often a symptom of a larger problem—alcohol misuse and abuse.
- Alcohol-impaired motor vehicle crashes cost more than an estimated \$37 billion annually.
- Driving buzzed *is* driving drunk.
- Each year, on average, more than 10,000 people die on our U.S. roadways due to drunk driving. That would equal 20 jumbo jets crashing each year.



Flagler County Sheriff's Office

ACCOUNTABILITY INTEGRITY RESPECT

SOBER DRIVERS. SAFER ROADS.



FLAGLER COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFICE

901 East Moody Blvd • Bunnell, FL 32110 386-586-4813

www.flaglersheriff.com

A State-accredited Law Enforcement Agency An Equal Opportunity Employer







facebook.com/flaglercounty.sheriffsoffice Twitter: flaglercounty.sheriffsoffice youtube.com/user/flaglercountyso



Brought to you by the Flagler County Sheriff's Office. Funded by the Florida Department of Transportation.

DRIVE SOBER OR GET PULLED OVER

One of the deadliest and most often committed yet preventable of crimes—drunk driving—has become a serious safety epidemic in our country.



Zero Tolerance for Drivers Under 21

Florida's Zero Tolerance law for drivers under 21 says that any driver under 21 who is stopped by law enforcement and has a blood alcohol level of .02 or higher will automatically have their Florida driver's license suspended for 6 months. The .02 limit really means that you cannot have a single drink and drive. And that's the idea.

Indirect consequences of a DUI conviction can include insurance premium increases. It may also limit a young person's future employment and educational opportunities. High school and college students may also face disciplinary actions including expulsion from school.



Alcohol-Impaired Driving

The Florida legal blood alcohol limit for drivers over 21 is .08. Regardless of your age, drinking and driving is a serious offense.

if you are pulled over and the officer asks you to take a blood, urine or breath test you are required to comply. Florida has the "Implied Consent Law." When you sign your driver's license you agree to take these tests upon request. Refusal to take any of the tests will result in an immediate license suspension for one year. A second refusal will result in an 18, month suspension.



Here is a summary of penalties in Florida for a first offense DUI. The average cost, including legal defense, fines and auto insurance increases, is \$8000.

- Fine—\$250 to \$500
- Community Service—50 Hours
- Probation—Not more than I Year
- Imprisonment—Not more than 6 Months
- Imprisonment with BAL of .08 or higher with a minor in the vehicle, not more than 9 months
- License Revocation—Minimum of 180 days
- DUI School—12 Hours

If you drive drunk someone could die.

Designate a Driver

The Flagler County Sheriff's Office reminds motorists that driving sober is not a recommendation—it's the law. Drunken driving is preventable. All it takes is a little planning ahead. Designate a sober driver or call a cab. But whatever you do, don't drink and drive,



NHTSA has made it even easier to get home safely when you've been drinking. Using the SaferRide mobile app (free from the iTunes store and Google Play) helps users call a taxi or a friend for a ride home. The app even helps you identify your pickup location. So remember that there's no excuse for drunken driving.

Remember to always follow the speed limit, wear your seat belt and drive responsibly. It could save your life or the life of another person. Motorists are urged to immediately report all aggressive and suspected impaired drivers to 911.

The Flagler County Sheriff's Office continues to crack down on drinking and driving. You can't hide it. If you drive drunk they will catch you and arrest you.