March 11, 2004

Renewal of Vegetation Management Permits

When requesting that the conditions of an existing Permit and vegetation management plan remain unchanged, please submit the following:

- (a) Cover letter to the District Maintenance Engineer in the FDOT District Office where you secured your existing Permit. The cover letter must include a statement that you will adhere to the conditions of the original Permit and vegetation management plan.
- (b) Completed Application for Vegetation Management at Outdoor Advertising Sign (required by Statute). Attachments are not required.
- (c) Copy of your previous Application and existing Permit that shows the District's approval.
- (d) Application fee. (\$25.00 per site or \$200.00 for more than 8 applications submitted simultaneously, providing that they are within the same District.) Please make your check or money order payable to the Florida Department of Transportation.

The District will take action on your renewal submittal within 60 days of receipt of request.

If you want to make modifications to the vegetation management plan; if you want to do additional cuttings or removals; or if a vegetation management permit has expired, you must submit a complete application package to the appropriate FDOT District Office in accordance with Rule Chapter 14-40, Florida Administrative Code. Permitting information and FDOT contact information is available on line at http://www.dot.state.fl.us/emo/beauty/Outdoor%20Advertising.htm

It is the Permit holder's responsibility to track expiration dates on Vegetation Management Permits. It is not required that District EMO Offices send out renewal reminders. The day after the Permit expires, no work by your company or its agents can be performed within the vegetation management zone on the state-owned right of way until a new Department approved permit has been issued by the FDOT District Office. Applications approved prior to the expiration date of the existing Permit will become effective the day after the expiration date of the old Permit.

As required by Rule Chapter 14-40.030, Part III(2)(c), Florida Administrative Code, a completed certificate of compliance must be submitted to the District Maintenance Engineer or designee within 10 working days after completion of the removal, cutting, or trimming of vegetation. If this certificate of compliance is not received within the required time frame, any removal, cutting or trimming of vegetation is an illegal cut and subject to both a \$1,000 administrative penalty and mitigation requirements.

If you have questions regarding this renewal process, please contact Lynn Holschuh or me at (850) 414-4545.

Sincerely,

Juanice M. Hagan Deputy State Right of Way Manager for Outdoor Advertising