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SUBARTICLE 9-5.1 is expanded by the following: 

  If the work extends over a period in excess of 45 calendar days, the Contractor 
may claim partial payment for work completed and accepted by the Department by submitting an 
invoice based on the pay items and unit prices contained in the Contract to the Engineer in charge 
of the project. Upon approval, the invoice will be processed for payment. 
  Submit bills for fees or other compensation for services or expenses in detail, 
sufficient for a proper pre-audit and post-audit. If travel expenses are specifically authorized by 
the Contract Documents, submit them to be paid in accordance with the rates specified in 
Section 112.061, Florida Statutes. 
 
 

SUBARTICLE 9-5.4 is deleted and the following substituted: 

  Any sums owed to the Department by the Contractor on any account may be 
deducted from such payment estimates. Where more than one project or job (separate job 
number) is included in the Contract, the reduced retainage shall be distributed to each separate 
project or job in the ratio that the Contract value of the work for the particular job bears to the 
total Contract amount. Retainage will be released upon satisfactory completion of all work and 
the completion of any conditional acceptance waiting periods. 
 
 

ARTICLE 9-9 is expanded by the following: 

 Section 215.422(5), Florida Statutes, requires the Department to include a statement of 
vendor (Contractor) rights. Contractors are hereby advised of the following: 
  Contractors providing goods and services to an agency should be aware of the 
following time frames: Upon receipt, an agency has five working days to inspect and approve the 
goods and services, unless the bid specifications, purchase order or Contract specifies otherwise. 
An agency has 20 days to deliver a request for payment (voucher) to the Department of Financial 
Services. The 20 days are measured from the latter of the date the invoice is received or the 
goods or services are received, inspected and approved, by the Department of Transportation. 
  If a payment is not made within 40 days, a separate interest penalty at the rate 
established pursuant to Section 55.03(1), Florida Statutes will be due and payable, in addition to 
the invoice amount, to the Contractor. The interest penalty provision applies after a 35 day time 
period to health care providers, as defined by rule. Interest penalties of less than one dollar will 
not be enforced unless the Contractor requests payment. Invoices which have to be returned to a 
Contractor because of Contractor preparation errors will result in a delay in the payment. The 
invoice payment requirements do not start until a properly completed invoice is provided to the 
Department. 
  A Vendor Ombudsman has been established within the Department of Financial 
Services. The duties of this individual include acting as an advocate for Contractors who may be 



experiencing problems in obtaining timely payment(s) from a state agency. The Vendor 
Ombudsman may be contacted by calling the Bureau of Accounting at (850) 413-5516. 
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