EMERGENCY INFORMATION FDOT Emergency Travel Alert:  For information on the current situation, please visit the following page - Alerts.

Systems Planning Office

Systems Planning / Programs & Services / Interchange Access Request

Interchange Access Request

Picture of a Florida Roadway

Purpose

 

The purpose of an Interchange Access Request (IAR) is to demonstrate the project is needed and is viable based on traffic, engineering, financial and other criteria. To ensure access decisions are properly administered, both Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) have adopted policies regarding IARs

Resources

 

FHWA: Interstate Access Policy – May, 2017
FHWA: Interstate System Access Information Guide

 

FDOT: Approval of New or Modified Access to Limited Access Highways on the Strategic Intermodal System (SIS)
FDOT: New or Modified interchanges (under revision)

FDOT: Interchange Access Request Process Flow Chart


Transportation Management Areas (TMA) Map (KMZ File)
DISCLAIMER: Google Earth must be installed on your PC prior to opening the KMZ file

 

2015 Interchange Access Request Users Guide
The Interchange Handbook provides guidance on the state and federal requirements and process to be used by all requestors proposing a new or modified interchange to any limited-access facility on the SHS.


2014 Traffic Analysis Handbook - A Reference for Planning and Operations
The Traffic Analysis Handbook guides the reviewer of traffic analysis reports to the items that need to be checked and verified before accepting the work performed by the analyst.

Interchange Review Coordinator (IRC) Contacts

 

Each District and the Turnpike Enterprise has established an Interchange Review Coordinator (IRC). The IRC is the primary point of contact for all Requesters, both inside and outside the Department, requesting new or modified interchanges on existing SIS limited access facilities within their Districts.

 

District Counties Contact
1 Charlotte, Collier, De Soto, Glades, Hardee, Hendry, Highlands, Lee, Manatee, Okeechobee, Polk, and Sarasota Christopher Simpron
Christopher.Simpron@dot.state.fl.us
2 Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Clay, Columbia, Dixie, Duval, Gilchrist, Hamilton, Lafayette, Levy, Madison, Nassau, Putnam, St. Johns, Suwannee, Taylor, and Union Stephen Browning
Stephen.Browning@dot.state.fl.us
3 Bay, Calhoun, Escambia, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, Jefferson, Leon, Liberty, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Wakulla, Walton, and Washington Ray Kirkland
Ray.Kirkland@dot.state.fl.us
4 Broward, Indian River, Martin, Palm Beach, and St. Lucie Scott Peterson
Scott.Peterson@dot.state.fl.us
5 Brevard, Flagler, Lake, Marion, Orange, Osceola, Seminole, Sumter, and Volusia Jean Parlow
Jean.Parlow@dot.state.fl.us
6 Miami-Dade and Monroe Lisa Colmenares
Lisa.Colmenares@dot.state.fl.us
7 Citrus, Hernando, Hillsborough, Pasco, and Pinellas Waddah Farah
Waddah.Farah@dot.state.fl.us
Turnpike Florida's Turnpike Alison Stettner
Alison.Stettner@dot.state.fl.us

For further information contact Andrew Young or phone (850) 414-4582.


Back To Top