EMERGENCY INFORMATION FDOT Emergency Travel Alert:  For information on the current situation, please visit the following page - Alerts.

State Safety Office

State Safety Office / Your Community Traffic Safety Teams (CTST)

Your Community Traffic Safety Teams (CTST)

Picture of Crosswalk Sign

Florida's Community Traffic Safety Teams (CTSTs) are locally based groups of highway safety advocates who are committed to solving traffic safety problems through a comprehensive, multi-jurisdictional, multi-disciplinary approach. Members include local city, county, state, and occasionally federal agencies, as well as private industry representatives and local citizens. The community boundaries determined by the individuals comprising the team, and can be a city, an entire county, a portion of a county, multiple counties, or any other jurisdictional arrangement.
Click here to see the CTST calendar

Multijurisdictional means several agencies (cities, county, and state) plus other groups and organizations working together toward a common goal of improving traffic safety in their community. Multi-disciplinary means integrating the efforts of the 4 "E" disciplines that work in highway safety, including Engineering, Enforcement, Education / public information, and Emergency services. By working together with interested citizens and other traffic safety advocates within their communities, the CTSTs help to solve local traffic safety problems related to the driver, the vehicle, and the roadway.

One common goal of each Community Traffic Safety Team is to reduce the number and severity of traffic crashes within their community. Due to the common goals, objectives, and interests of the statewide Community Traffic Safety Teams, the teams decided to form their own unique coalition. The CTST Coalition holds quarterly meetings to share successes, safety materials, best practices and programs and to facilitate technology transfer among the CTSTs.

The Community Traffic Safety Program is a Federal, State and Local Government endorsed program developed to reduce the number of traffic crashes on Florida roadways. The program was created in response to federal legislation (the Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act of 1990), which calls for local participation, and solutions to traffic crashes, injuries and fatalities on local roadways.

The Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) has been active in the support of Community Traffic Safety Teams. Each FDOT District has a CTST Coordinator who works closely with the CTSTs in their geographic area, and the Central FDOT Safety Office acts as a liaison to the District Coordinators.

Community Traffic Safety Team Coordinators (See the State map)
Central Office Contact CO  Leilani Gruener 850.414.4048

Charlotte, Collier, DeSoto, Glades, Hardee, Hendry, Highlands, Lee, Manatee, Okeechobee, Polk, Sarasota  D1 Theresa Myers 863.519.2671

Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Clay, Columbia, Dixie, Duval, Gilchrist, Hamilton, Lafayette, Levy, Madison, Nassau, Northeast Florida Multicounty, Putnam, St. Johns, Suwannee, Taylor, Union  D2 Andrea Atran 904.360.5416

Bay, Calhoun, Escambia, Gadsden, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, Jefferson, Leon, Liberty, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Wakulla, Walton, Washington  D3 Barbara Lee 850.330.1428

Broward, Indian River, Martin, Palm Beach, St. Lucie  D4 Carmen Pullins 954.777.4361

Brevard, Flagler, Lake, Marion, Orange, Osceola, Seminole, Sumter, Volusia  D5 Joe Steward 386.943.5323

Miami-Dade, Monroe  D6 Carlos Sarmiento 305.470.5437

Citrus, Hernando, Hillsborough, Pasco, Pinellas  D7 Ginger Regalado 813.975.6970

FDOT District Map

CTST Resources and Links

CTST Coalition 2012 Spring Report D7 CTST.org
Safety Program Tracking

For more information contact Leilani Gruener @ (850) 414-4048